LUIS0724 2.jpg

VISION

"By 2024, indigenous forest peoples will be educated and skilled, with effective representation in national and international decision-making bodies, financially self-sufficient, and with their cultures valued and protected."

HISTORY OF GBABANDI

On October 4, 2016, the indigenous forest peoples of Cameroon gathered in Akonétyé, district of Djoum, for a General Assembly with the aim of officially establishing their own platform. 

 

The platform was named "Gbabandi", the Baka word for a termite mound, which illustrates the union of diverse indigenous communities working towards common goals.

 

Gbabandi's objective is to strengthen the direct representation of Cameroon’s indigenous forest peoples at both local and national levels, and to increase their effective participation in decision-making processes.

For these communities, Gbabandi is the space that allows them to communicate, to maintain inter-community dialogue which leads them to imagine a common future, and to collectively invest in moving towards their desired future.

LUIS0724 2.jpg

LA VISION

« D’ici à 2024, les populations autochtones des forêts sont scolarisées et formées, elles sont efficacement représentées dans les instances décisionnelles nationales et internationales et sont financièrement autonomes avec leur culture valorisée et préservée. »

HISTORIQUE DE LA CRÉATION DE GBABANDI

 

Le 4 Octobre 2016, les Peuples autochtones des forêts du Cameroun se sont rassemblés à Akonétyé (Arrondissement de Djoum), pour une Assemblée Générale constitutive visant à formaliser officiellement une plateforme de la communauté des Peuples autochtones des forêts du Cameroun.

Ladite plateforme a été baptisée « Gbabandi », un terme Baka signifiant « termitière », qui illustre l’union de différentes communautés autochtones œuvrant pour des objectifs communs.  

La raison d’être de Gbabandi est d’améliorer la représentativité et la prise de décision des Peuples autochtones des forêts du Cameroun.  

 

Pour les Peuples des forêts, Gbabandi est l’espace qui leur permet de communiquer, de maintenir le dialogue intercommunautaire pour initier des réflexions qui les amèneraient à imaginer un futur commun et de s’investir collectivement pour aller vers les changements souhaités.